Lionel Messi wins Ballon d’Or ahead of Ronaldo and Lewandowski


PSG’s Lionel Messi has won the 7th Ballon d’Or title of his career and setting a new record in the process as the only player to have more individual titles than anyone else.

Although Robert Lewandowski was considered the strongest contender to deny Messi this historic moment, he only managed to place second despite his exploits in the Bundesliga where he scored a record 41 goals in just 29 games last season to better the record set by the late Gerd Mueller.

Although the mercurial Argentinean is yet to find his feet in his new club in France since moving to Paris Saint-Germain, his 30 league goals in his final season at Barcelona along with a win at the Copa del Rey gave him the edge.

He also led Argentina’s victory at the Copa America as evidence of his credentials for the award. Meanwhile, Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have now combined to win 12 of the past 13 editions of the Ballon d’Or but missed out this time around.

See the final polls; 

1ST – Lionel Messi

2nd – Robert Lewandowski

3rd – Jorginho

4th – Karim Benzema

5th – N’Golo Kante

6th- Cristiano Ronaldo

7th – Mohamed Salah

8th – Kevin De Bruyne

9th – Kylian Mbappe

10th – Gianluigi Donnarumma

Comments are closed.