VGMA “Artiste of the Year” winners from 1999-2020

Photogrid Plus 1598907883682

The Ghana Music Awards has been in existence for the past 21 years. The award scheme was launched in 1999 by Charterhouse Productions. The very first awards event was organized in 1999 and it came off each and every year up to this year 2020.

The very award category that is valued by most musicians is the Artiste of the Year award. It is the biggest award of the night giving whoever wins it the bragging right to hit his or her chest that he’s the best among the best in the year under review.

This category has been dominated by male musicians. However, this jinx was broken by Rufftown Records former signee Ebony Reigns who won the awards posthumously after her death on February 8, 2018.

Below are the winners of the Artiste of the Year category of the Ghana Music Awards from 1999-2020.

1999-Akyeame (Quophi Okyeame and Okyeame Kwame)

2000-Daddy Lumba

2001-Kojo Antwi

2002-Lord Kenya




2006-Ofori Amponsah


2008-Kwaw Kese

2009-Okyeame Kwame





2014-Shatta Wale



2017-Joe Mettle


2019 – Annulled (because of the fracas that happened between Shatta Wale and Stonebwoy on that very night. This made Ebony to reign for 2 years a Artiste of the Year.)

2020 – Kuami Eugene

Comments are closed.